0.9

Rating:        Based on 4 ratings
Reviewed:  4 reviews
Downloads: 21894
Released: Nov 29, 2012
Updated: Jan 6, 2017 by taoyue
Dev status: Beta Help Icon

Downloads

Application PinyinTones32.msi
application, 264K, uploaded Nov 30, 2012 - 5772 downloads
Application PinyinTones64.msi
application, 276K, uploaded Nov 30, 2012 - 16122 downloads

Release Notes

Which file should I download?

  • Download PinyinTones64.msi on 64-bit Windows.
  • Download PinyinTones32.msi on 32-bit Windows.
If you do not know what version of Windows you are running, press WindowsKey + Pause to bring up the System Information dialog. Next to "System type", it will tell you if you are running 32-bit or 64-bit Windows.

Windows 8 won't let an unrecognized app start

Click "More Info," then "Run anyway."

This happens quite a bit to open-source programs that address a niche market. The problem is that not enough people have downloaded the program to build up reputation with the SmartScreen filter.

What's New in this Release?

  • Compatible with Windows 8 -- both desktop and Windows Store applications.
  • More reliable installation framework.
  • Installation prerequisites have been eliminated. This eliminates version clashes for the Visual C++ redistributable.

Reviews for this release

     
An extremely helpful program! Works like a charm. Occasionally, a couple oddities happen when using a different language keyboard, including some occasionally odd reactions with Word. At one point I deleted the program, than reinstalled it. The second time I had to manually add it to my keyboard options, by adding the Japanese keyboard in preferences, and then the Pinyin Tones sub keyboard..
by FullMoon2 on Mar 7, 2016 at 2:33 PM
     
I was looking for a Windows equivalent to Mac Pinyin and this is just perfect. It does the job flawlessly, it's free and open source... what else?
by guiand on Oct 12, 2015 at 4:05 PM
     
Great, thanks. :) It helped me with my Coursea course for learning chinese. Also it'd be useful in future.. Thanks again. :)
by Suket55 on Aug 13, 2015 at 1:41 PM
     
Works great, thank you!
by kaicarver on Jan 4, 2015 at 2:51 PM